Notice of Temporarily postponing the proposed visa free scheme for

selected countries

The Government of Sri Lanka had earlier decided to introduce a free tourist visa

scheme with effect from 01.05.2019 for 39 countries including the countries of the

European Union.

However, due to the fact that as a result of the prevailing security conditions in the

country, it has been decided that the free visa scheme for the 39 countries will be

postponed until further notice.

Therefore, it is recommended that the tourists from the above countries should obtain

visas online (ETA) or through the Sri Lanka High Commission in London, UK prior

to departure to Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka High Commission

London

26 April 2019