Implementing free Tourist visa scheme for selected countries

The Government of Sri Lanka has decided to introduce a free visa scheme with effect from 01.08.2019 for tourists of the following countries.

  • Thailand


  • 28 countries under European Union

     (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak  Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom

  • United State of America
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • South Korea
  • Canada
  • Singapore
  • New Zealand
  • Malaysia
  • Switzerland
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Ukraine
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Iceland


Passport holders of the above countries who are visiting Sri Lanka for a short period from 01.08.2019 to 31.01.2020 are required to apply for ETA and obtain pre approval before the journey to avoid unnecessary delays at the port of entry.