Update on the temporary suspension of the issuance of Sri Lanka visas for UK nationals, temporary travel ban and quarantine procedure

In view of the present circumstances of the rapid spread of COVID-19 globally, UK nationals have  been added to the list of nationals for whom the issuance of Sri Lanka visas will be temporarily suspended for two weeks from 16 March 2020 at 2359 hours (Sri Lanka Time) to 30 March 2020 at 2400 hrs (Local time).

All types of Electronic Travel Authorizations (ETA), Entry Visas, Landing Endorsements, Multiple Entry Visas and Residence Visas that have already been granted will also be temporarily suspended and UK nationals holding such visas are kindly requested not to travel to Sri Lanka during this period as they will not be allowed to enter Sri Lanka.

Accordingly, all travel originating from the United Kingdom will be temporarily banned for a period of 2 weeks with effect from 2359hrs (local time in Sri Lanka) on 16th of March 2020.

The ban will commence on all flights arriving from the UK after 16 March 2020 at 2359hrs (Local Time in Sri Lanka) and end on 30 March 2020 at 2400hrs (Local time in Sri Lanka).

There will also be a Quarantine Procedure until the 16 March 2020 wherein those arriving from the UK until 2359hrs on 15th March 2020 will not be subjected to any Quarantine while those arriving between 0000hrs to 2359hrs on 16th March 2020 will be sent to a quarantine centre.

Diplomatic, Official and Service passport holders will be exempted from these restrictions.

This is a temporary measure adopted by the Government of       Sri Lanka in dealing with a global health issue and we regret any inconvenience this may have caused to our guests from the UK and we seek your kind cooperation in this difficult situation.


High Commission of Sri Lanka


15 March 2020